June 13 2012

Six years.

It’s been six years since I started working at my current school. I got a phone call 2 weeks before the end of term 1 2006 offering me a position, and after finding out where on earth Evans was, I said yes. I was doing some casual work at the time, after turning down a full-time position at the school I was previously part-time at, because I didn’t really want to be working full time until my youngest child started school. Circumstances changed, though, and we’d just decided that I should start looking for something full time, but relatively close to home …. this job was perfect!!

So, six years on, and what have I learnt? A lot. I’ve learnt that I’m a much better teacher than I thought I was.

I’ve discovered that in DO like the idea of being a head teacher. I said, which I first started teaching, that I wanted to be in a classroom, not in executive meetings, but the opportunities I’ve had over the past few years have shown me that I could do HT … and, in fact, that I want to. I’m still clarifying whether for me, that’s going to be English, or in a Welfare role, both of which have their attractions for me, but it’s definitely something that’s on my radar.

I’ve learnt that it’s ok to say no. That sometimes, I really SHOULD say no!! I’m a chronic people pleaser, and that often results in me doing way too much for other people, and not nearly enough for myself. So, I’m practicing …. and sometimes, feeling completely ok about saying “no, I’m sorry, I can’t help you with that!!” (I’m still very likely to find a way to help, though, coz that’s just how I roll!!)

I’ve learnt that I’m more capable than I give myself credit for, and that my doubts? Sometimes they are useful. I’m giving less creedence to the “you suck” side of my self-doubt, but paying attention to what they are telling me, because sometimes, my own insecurities about something will help me discover what I need to get better at. Sometimes they help me go in a direction I never dreamed possible!! Sometimes they are just bogus crap, so I ignore those ones …. but you know, it’s all about discernement.

Most importantly, I think for me, anyway …. I’ve discovered that teaching IS ME. It’s not just something I’m doing because I don’t have the time to go back to uni and do my PhD (yes, I still want to do it ….. no, not giving up my career to!) The reason I get so pissed when people have a go at teachers and their holidays? It’s because I have ENORMOUS pride in my profession. I think we rock, and I’m proud to be a part of such an amazing industry. I love what I do, and I love where I do it. So, six years? I’ve probably got another 18 months in me here, before I start thinking about moving on …. but it will be done with a lot of tears! I’m not ready to go yet, though – there’s still a lot I want to do in this incarnation of Rodgers’ Room!


Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Posted June 13, 2012 by Tamara Reads in category Ponderings on Education

About the Author

She/her. On Whadjuk Noongar land. NSWPRC Officer, Teacher Librarian, English teacher and social media advocate. I've been teaching in Western Sydney for my entire teaching career, and love my job more than I love Neil Gaiman. (That's a lot, in case you're wondering!) I stalk authors (but always politely), fangirl over books, and drink coffee. And one of my guilty prides about my children is that they all have favourite authors. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*